ALRESFORD will remain in the Winchester constituency after MPs voted against changing boundaries.

The vote yesterday also means that the Meon Valley seat, held by George Hollingbery, will also be saved.

The Boundary Commission had proposed moving Alresford into a new north-east Hampshire constituency, a proposal strongly opposed in the town.

The proposals were the result of Government plans to cut the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

MPs voted to delay the decision until after 2018, after Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg withdrew his party’s support.