MANY HOLIDAYMAKERS are eagerly awaiting to hear which countries they can jet off to this summer.

It has been confirmed that Transport Secretary Grant Shapps will lead a coronavirus briefing in Downing Street at 5pm today, where it will be revealed what countries have made the green list.

Places that are put in this category means travellers won't have to quarantine or self-isolate when they return to the UK.

But, they must have a pre-departure test and a PCR test on or before day two of their return.

The Government is set to give free rapid Covid tests to travellers to eliminate the stress of finding one before they fly back home.

Nations will also be placed into amber and red categories under the new traffic light system, with international travel expected to resume on May 17.

But what countries are likely to be on the green list and what does it mean if countries are placed in the amber or red bands?

Which countries could be on the green list?

The places that are tipped to be on the green light, including the percentage of the population that's been vaccinated with one dose, are as follows:

  • Malta (49.7%)
  • Portugal (22.4%)
  • Israel (62.4%)
  • Gibraltar (100%)
  • Barbados (25.7%)
  • Jamaica (4.6%)
  • Morocco (13.3%)
  • Grenada (10.5%)
  • UK (50%)

Some countries that are likely to be on the amber list

Many popular European destinations, such as Spain, France, Italy and Turkey, are likely to miss out on the green list and will be put in the amber band instead, according to iNews.

Holidaymakers travelling to amber countries will need to quarantine at home for ten days, take a pre-departure test and a PCR test on the second and eighth day.

However, people can pay extra to have their second test on day five, rather than day eight. This is expected to slash isolation time.

How does the red list work and which countries are on it?

Travellers must take a private Covid test in their holiday destination before flying back to England, as well as book a ten-day hotel quarantine and testing package for each member of their group before leaving.

They must also take a PCR test on or before day two of their arrival in England and again on day eight.

According to the Government's website, these are the countries that have been placed on the red list as of April 23:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe